Library Loot, and a moratorium

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I have a pretty big stack of unread library books right now. I just picked up three more that I’d had on hold, and I hereby declare that I will not go to the library or put anything on hold until the books I have now are read and/or returned.

Today’s haul:

Jennifer Egan: A Visit from the Goon Squad. My book club is reading this. I have read mixed reviews. The woman in my club who picked it is head over heels in love with it. She is an English prof who has been teaching the book at the community college. Hope I like it; hope I can think of something interesting to say about it when the time comes.

Michael Crummy: Galore. My best friend has been raving about this book for weeks. I have a feeling I’m in for quite a ride. Magical realism, set in Newfoundland!?!?

Brigid Pasulka: A Long Long Time Ago & Essentially True. This is a nice surprise. I don’t really remember placing a hold on this, but it looks great. One of the blurbs calls it a “great literary love story.” Great cover, too. All righty then!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ah! I love, love, love Galore. I heard a neat interview with him on CBC radio with Shelagh Rogers (I’m positive it’s online in a podcast) and it really brought out the magic of the tale for me…turns out the bulk of it was pulled from tales he heard told as truths…such a seductive tale.

    Reply
  2. You’ve got some really interesting reads from the library. I picked up Goon Squad in October but had to return it unread :-( But hopefully I’ll get back to it soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

